Friday, July 29, 2011

Consideration

How hard is it for you to think of someone else? It's not. Selfishness is becoming one of the worst diseases out. SMH The only thing anybody can think of is ME! Sad. From ya home to ya job you can find the disease full blown. Why have people become so self centered? I know that times are hard but DAMN! What ever happened to, "I'll scratch your back if you scratch mine?" I guess thats why they made back scratchers. So you can do it yourself.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

FAIL

We have truly failed our kids. Smh I walk the streets each day and I get more and more disgusted at what I see. These kids are basically raising themselves. They make their own rules and do just as they please. I don't blame them of course, I blame these poor excuses for parents that they have. These parents are too worried about themselves to raise a child. Thier twats n johnsons, drug habits and fetishes out weigh the needs of their children. They don't have or want the time to deal with these kids. It's truly very sad. For instance, my nieghbor has five children. The oldest is six and the youngest is four months old and she is pregnant with the sixth child. Now, the man she says is the father of them all does live with her but he is a straight dead beat. No job. No money. He don't even have all his teeth. Smh Of course she don't 
work. She collects welfare and state checks like SSI or something. I mean, hey get what you can but come on man. Don't make a career out of collecting government checks. On top of him being a dead beat, he's abusive. He beats her in front of her kids and publicly. Smh She pays her children little to no attention. Her oldest isn't even in school yet. We live in a city and she feels that its ok for her kids to run barefoot up and down the street. They wear clothes that are too big or too small. They are never clean or have their hair combed. They're always begging for something. Don't walk by eating something, they run you down for whatever it is. You'd think the mother would stop them or correct thier behavior. She doesn't. She just looks at you with this stupid stare as if she expects you to give. Can you imagine what these kids will grow up to be like? They curse like sailors, have no manners and no shame. They WILL become menaces to society. The girls will spit babies out at a young age and will have no respect for themselves. The boys will be abusive losers looking for a handout all thier lives. Training starts at home. Yes, it does take a village to raise a child but morals are instilled at home. You can't create a monster and then expect people to deal with it. It don't work that way. The people will label that little monster and put him away. Without our children, there is no future.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

The Natural Me

Change is good. We've all heard that one before. Well, Im gon have to agree. All change ain't good but I say hey give it here. I get tired of dealing with the same old BS all the time. No matter when or how, we will always experience some type of BS. The same BS all the time gets old. Besides that, it means you're going in circles, never solving anything. So I guess in the end, change is good. Anywhoo...change is what I needed about a year ago. My hair was long but it was damaged and uneven and beginning to thin in the front. I knew it was coming from perming my hair (and my famous ponytail wasn't helping much either) so I decided to do something drastic and go natural. I didn't want to continue to damage my hair. One of my worst fears is going bald, thinning or not having a healthy head of hair period. My Gramma always told me that a woman's hair is her crown and glory and to take care of it well. I followed her instructions well until I had my son in 1993 and got tired of caring for it naturally and not to mention I wasn't caring for it right anyway. I was frying it every chance I could with a straightening comb to get the straight look. Back then, that's how we got the permed look without the perm. I had no idea how to care for it so I did what I thought was right and permed it. SMH It provided the convenience I was looking for but it wasn't healthy and started a process of damaging my hair.

My last perm was in June 2010. The first few months wasn't bad of course. About eight months in, I began to get frustrated because it was becoming harder to deal with my hair and I was seeing alot of breakage. It began to scare me. I would call my sister with so many questions about how to deal with my hair. She knew a little about caring for hair. She kept up on that kind of stuff. She did her own hair a lot. Me, I depended on the salon all the time. She gave me lots of tips about how to condition and strengthen. She offered names to lots of products and techniques to care for my hair. It helped alot. I also took advice and tips from youtube videos and blogs, also friends who had gone natural too. I was noticing that my natural hair was growing and looking healthy but the permed hair looked, DEAD. It was falling out all over the place. It became hard to style and my hair looked a mess. All my life I've had a decent length of hair. I wasn't used to a short look and after eighteen years my husband wasn't used to it either. I was afraid to cut it. Some time passed and my natural hair was beginning to grow as long as the permed hair. The permed hair had all basically fallen off. It looked terrible. I couldn't take it anymore. I finally decided to just cut it a year later. Not short, just the permed hair. OMGEEE! I was so happy with the result! It took a day or two for me to get used to it but it was definitely the move to make. It looked awesome! A curly fro! LOL Too funny! I got all good feedback. Of course that made me know that what I did was right. So, now I'm wearing it curly. I haven't straightened it since I cut it two weeks ago and I probably won't for a while. At least the length of the summer. In just the two weeks time, I've noticed that it's grown nicely. I can't wait until the Christmas season! I'm dying to see what it's going to look like! I'm experimenting with different products to see which ones work better for me. I'm open to any suggestions that anybody would like to share. I know there's a lot of woman out there doing the natural challenge. I'm so glad I did. I wish I would have did it sooner. No, scratch that. I wish I never would've permed my hair. SMH @ me.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Cherokee Rose

Well, I guess this is my introduction to the world. Hello, I'm Cherokee Rose. A simple yet complicated woman doing nothing more than what I should. I'm no hero or saint nor am I famous or rich. Im just me. Along the way, u'll get to know more about me and what I like and don't like and a whole lot more. I look forward to meeting new and exciting people that I can learn from and maybe teach a lil of what I know. Anywhoo, the point being, I'm here. LOL Nice to meet u.