Friday, October 21, 2011

Aging

I never thought I'd b happy to be getting older. I can remember a time when I didn't think of life past 25. Lol Now, Im maturing and aging so gracefully. I'm 35 soon to be 36 and I'm loving it! I look better everyday and I feel awesome! The older I get the happier I become. I get wiser, more experienced in everything I do ツ and I appreciate and treasure things as I should. Life seems easier cause I understand it better. As a kid, the world seemed a little scary to me. Dangerous enough for me to hide but now, I see nothing but space and opportunity. I don't worry about things I can't change or have no power over. I worry only about what I have the power to change. It makes my journey worth every battle. Life dishes out some crazy shit but mostly lessons. If you're not paying attention you'll miss alot.

Don't knock being a "Ol G". Lol It's the shit!!  ツ

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Yep!!

The funny thing is that all I have are good intentions but somehow I always get fucked in the end. Well guess what? No more. I'm not waiting around for nobody, it's all about me now and what I want and need. I'm gone let my voice be heard and if you don't wanna hear it then don't listen. I've said this before but I mean it this time. No, I'm not turning bitchie because thats just not me. I never was a bitch and I never will be one. I hate bitches and I sure ain't gonna become something that I hate. That defeats the purpose of my self satisfation. Besides that, who likes bitches? I love who I am as a person, I'm just gon pay more attention to me. Everybody else goes on the back burner. Simple. I'll be taking my own advice from here on out. Ppl need to do that more. We all give great advice but never apply it to ourselves and our own situations. Let's give it a try. ツ

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

19 Years In and Counting

So, it's been 19 years since I've met my hubby. ツ Wow I can't believe it myself sometimes. There's been good times and bad, times when I've wanted to kill him and chop his body up into tiny pieces and bury him all over the earth but for the most part, it's been absolutely the best times of my life. In him I have a best friend, a husband, someone I can confide in and tell my most terrible secrets to. I have someone who tells me what's real and not what I need to hear when it really matters most. He's my protector and my provider and he's also my partner in everything. I know I'm blessed to have someone like him in my life. Now, don't get it twisted, he's a pain in the ass like most men BUT he's never given me a reason to leave, or want to leave. Most of my friends envy my relationship and it's for good reason. I do have something special.

Now he's not the only reason this relatonship has lasted this long tho. I play a BIG part in that as well. I'm secure in who I am as a woman and a person so I don't worry about things that are irrelevant. I never ask if I'm good enough for him because I know I am. Shit, he's lucky he got somebody like me who understands that he is a man and he needs to breath and he underatands that I do too as a woman, so we don't bump heads often. Compromise and underatanding is key in a successful relationship. Also, you gotta listen to each other. Don't think for each other, talk to each other. If you dont listen, how will you know what to do and what not to do. How will you know what he wants and how will he know what you want? It's simple if you take the time and use your mind. ツ It doesn't have to be rocket science. ♥

Monday, October 10, 2011

WTH?!

Ladies, what the hell is going on? What are you doing to yourselves? I can remember a time when you rarely saw an overweight girl. Now, out of every ten I see, seven are overweight! Seriously? Is this what its come down to? I don't understand. Everywhere I turn I see a FAT girl. A fat young girl too. These aren't older women, these are women in their 20's and 30's. It's sad to see what you've become. I know that there are women with gland issues and other medical issues that may cause you to be overweight but not ALL of you! Ya'll have become so lazy and it's not funny, not at all. What happened to a little self control and some discipline? Doesn't anybody care about themselves anymore?

Now don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that you're supposed to be 125lbs but you are supposed to be curvy and sexy. You're not supposed to be possibly mistaken for a fat man from behind. You're supposed to have a shape, not be boxy or round. You shouldn't waddle when you walk you should sway. You should look sexy in heels not awkward. Ladies, come on. We gotta do better.

It starts with a little self discipline and some self control. Watch what you eat. Spend a little time working out. It doesn't take much. Cut down on your portions when you eat. Eat just a bit more sensibly. It's not easy, I know this, especially when every where you turn there's an add for some unhealthy, greasy fattening food that taste so good but adds pounds to your hips, thighs and stomach that causes the problem. You should care about yourselves enough to say, "no, I dont want or need that". Not all the time but most of the time.

It's just something to think about, that's all.

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Once More

OK, I know I've spoken on this already but I feel the need to speak on it again. Our children. Ppl, please. Listen to your kids. They're in desperate need of your attention and guidance. Each passing day brings us closer to the future and that shit ain't looking so good man, not at all. Our kids aren't being educated well enough by us or the school systems to handle the weight of the world. They won't be prepared for what's coming. It shames me to know the reading levels these kids are at. They can't even spell! I have so many young ppl as friends on Facebook and as I read over their statuses, I'm amazed at the simple mistakes of common misspelled words, poor sentence structure and grammar. I'm not even gonna go into the topics they chose to discuss. Thats a whole other blog. These are kids fresh out of high school or are in college. What the hell?! Is attendance the only requirement to pass a class nowadays? I myself recently took a test and was seeking some help in basic algebra. I asked high school graduates of 2010/11 and a couple of college freshman for some help on the subject and guess what? I couldn't find one to help me. Not one. Smh I was in complete awe over this. I can understand my ill knowledge of the subject. It's been well over 15 years since I've been in a classroom but what's their excuse?

Parents, are you following your children's education to see if they're progressing well? Do you know if they're understanding what they're being taught? I sit and watch videos of children performing songs from videos of the most popular artists out word for word, dance move for dance move and they have these routines down packed. Some are as young as 4 or 5 years old but I rarely or never see anything posted of a child doing something extraordinary to show that they are beyond their years in anything educational. I recently watched a clip of a fashion show of kids ranging in age from about 3-14 years old and they were grinding on each other as if they were auditioning for a roll in the remake of Player's Club or a postion on the pole of the local strip joint in their neighborhood! They weren't even modeling the cothes! What was even sadder was the fact that the crowd of ADULTS they performed for were cheering them on and encouraging them to grind harder! Smh I mean come on, is this the best we got for them? Are we that occupied with our own lives that we can't pay them the attention they need and desire? Why aren't we concerned enough to realize the damage that's being done. Im so ashamed. 

It's time to take charge of our children's lives again. It's time we show them that there are way more important things they should be learning. Instead of allowing them to watch hours of inapropriate videos, how about switching to programs to help develop the skills they're gonna need to succeed in life. How about we offer them more educational toys instead of ones that place them on imaginary stages to perform adult dance moves and sing songs with lyrics that they are too young to sing. Or what about teaching them how to respect their elders and themselves. There is just so much more that we can be doing to raise our kids better.

Please, I'm begging you all to listen to, pay attention to and guide your children accordingly. They need you, BADLY! Stop failing them!

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Really though?

If you let em, ppl will suck the life out of you! Smh I get so fed up wit ppl sometimes. It's always can you or do you or take me or I only need. At any rate, a hand is always in ya face for something. Pls stop it! I live in the same hood u do so that means I pretty much have wat u do or close to it. I work hard for what I have. Why should I part with it so easily ALL the time? Im not even gonna mention the ungreatfulness. I mean most of the time, they act as if you owe them. As if it's my duty to accomodate them every time Im asked. Geeez!! What's so funny is, if I ask for something, there's that awkward silence and the sound of crickets laughing. At me! Smh Im so done. So done. Ughhhh....