Saturday, October 8, 2011

Once More

OK, I know I've spoken on this already but I feel the need to speak on it again. Our children. Ppl, please. Listen to your kids. They're in desperate need of your attention and guidance. Each passing day brings us closer to the future and that shit ain't looking so good man, not at all. Our kids aren't being educated well enough by us or the school systems to handle the weight of the world. They won't be prepared for what's coming. It shames me to know the reading levels these kids are at. They can't even spell! I have so many young ppl as friends on Facebook and as I read over their statuses, I'm amazed at the simple mistakes of common misspelled words, poor sentence structure and grammar. I'm not even gonna go into the topics they chose to discuss. Thats a whole other blog. These are kids fresh out of high school or are in college. What the hell?! Is attendance the only requirement to pass a class nowadays? I myself recently took a test and was seeking some help in basic algebra. I asked high school graduates of 2010/11 and a couple of college freshman for some help on the subject and guess what? I couldn't find one to help me. Not one. Smh I was in complete awe over this. I can understand my ill knowledge of the subject. It's been well over 15 years since I've been in a classroom but what's their excuse?

Parents, are you following your children's education to see if they're progressing well? Do you know if they're understanding what they're being taught? I sit and watch videos of children performing songs from videos of the most popular artists out word for word, dance move for dance move and they have these routines down packed. Some are as young as 4 or 5 years old but I rarely or never see anything posted of a child doing something extraordinary to show that they are beyond their years in anything educational. I recently watched a clip of a fashion show of kids ranging in age from about 3-14 years old and they were grinding on each other as if they were auditioning for a roll in the remake of Player's Club or a postion on the pole of the local strip joint in their neighborhood! They weren't even modeling the cothes! What was even sadder was the fact that the crowd of ADULTS they performed for were cheering them on and encouraging them to grind harder! Smh I mean come on, is this the best we got for them? Are we that occupied with our own lives that we can't pay them the attention they need and desire? Why aren't we concerned enough to realize the damage that's being done. Im so ashamed. 

It's time to take charge of our children's lives again. It's time we show them that there are way more important things they should be learning. Instead of allowing them to watch hours of inapropriate videos, how about switching to programs to help develop the skills they're gonna need to succeed in life. How about we offer them more educational toys instead of ones that place them on imaginary stages to perform adult dance moves and sing songs with lyrics that they are too young to sing. Or what about teaching them how to respect their elders and themselves. There is just so much more that we can be doing to raise our kids better.

Please, I'm begging you all to listen to, pay attention to and guide your children accordingly. They need you, BADLY! Stop failing them!

No comments:

Post a Comment